Print

 

A bold new out-of-the-box concept, Trio seeks to celebrate the art in great storytelling.

It begins with a book. Then the book is given to both a songwriter and a visual artist. The artists are inspired as only a great book can inspire a person:  A song is written. A work of art is created. And a new Trio comes into being.

A new Trio will be announced each week via the Trio Facebook page. In September all the Trios will be installed as a part of an exhibit which will debut at the 40th anniversary of the Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance Discovery Show in Raleigh, NC. Then the exhibit will go on the road, traveling to museums, galleries, and literary events throughout following year in partnership with SIBA’s indie bookstores. The Trio exhibit will be a unique and creative literary event that invites community participation and excitement around the inspirational nature of great books.

The songwriters include Grammy winners and CMA award-winners. The visual artists are a diverse group from photographers to painters to sculptors to a Visual and Special Effects Director in feature films. The authors…could be yours.

There is only room for five more titles. The cost to the publisher to have a book in the exhibit is $2,999. In addition, the publisher should provide three copies of the book, in addition to any advance reader copies or galleys needed to get to the musician and artist in advance. Time is critical.

The Facebook page for Trio has been established and will feature one Trio a week until the debut of the project. Publishers should share and link to all social media feeds.

Here are the fifteen titles and their assigned musician and artist.

On the Water
On the Water (Lyons Press)

Guy de la Valdene, author http://midcurrent.com/people/midcurrent-interview-guy-de-la-valdene/ 
Chris Clifton, songwriter https://www.facebook.com/chriscliftonguitar 
J.R. Cook, artist http://www.jrcookknives.com

Tell the World You’re a Wildflower
Tell the World You’re a Wildflower (University of Alabama Press)
Jennifer Horne, author http://jennifer-horne.blogspot.com 
Mary Gauthier, songwriter http://www.marygauthier.com 
Jennifer Nybloom, artist http://www.jennifernyblom.com

Thelonious Rising
Thelonious Rising (Rivers Edge Media)

Judith Richards, author http://riversedgemedia.com/authors/judith-richards/ 
Ericson Holt, songwriter http://www.ericsonholt.com 
Beth Childs, artist https://www.facebook.com/BethChildsMedia?fref=ts

The World’s Largest Man
The World’s Largest Man (HarperCollins)

Harrison Scott Key, author http://www.harrisonscottkey.com 
Mac McAnally, songwriter http://www.macmcanally.com 
Sloan Bibb, artist http://www.sloanebibb.com

I am a Town
I am a Town (Rivers Edge Media)

Shari Smith, author http://shari-smith.com 
Tim Carter, songwriter http://www.carterbrothersband.com 
Don Andrews, artist http://www.donandrews.net

Ava's Man
Ava’s Man (Vintage)

Rick Bragg, author https://www.facebook.com/rickbraggauthor 
Rodney Crowell, songwriter http://www.rodneycrowell.com 
Bruce Larsen, artist http://www.brucelarsenart.com

A Condition of Freedom
A Condition of Freedom (Rivers Edge Media)

Joe Formichella, author http://joeformichella.com 
Ray Weaver, songwriter http://www.weaverwrites.com 
Amos Kennedy, artist http://www.kennedyprints.com/posters1.html

Chinaberry Sidewalks
Chinaberry Sidewalks (Vintage)

Rodney Crowell, author http://www.rodneycrowell.com 
Will Kimbrough, songwriter http://willkimbrough.com 
Ray Martin, artist https://www.linkedin.com/pub/ray-martin/33/838/a9b

This Side of the River
This Side of the River
 (Nautilus)
Jeff Stayton, author https://www.facebook.com/jeff.stayton?fref=ts
Eric Erdman, songwriter http://www.ericerdmanmusic.com
Laura Brooks, artist http://www.instagram.com/lauraislbjdesign

Pasture Art
Pasture Art (Hub City Press)

Marlin Barton, author http://www.marlinbarton.com/
Marty Dodson, songwriter http://martydodson.com/marty-dodson-bio/
Lucy Hunnicutt, artist http://www.jtfolkart.com/artist/lucy-hunnicutt/

The Mullet Manifesto
The Mullet Manifesto (Rivers Edge Media)

Roger Pinckney, author http://rogerpinckney.com 
Clay Mills, songwriter http://claymills.com 
Josh Ashley, http://www.joshashley.com/bio.html 

On the Water
Dumplin’
 (Balzer + Bray)
Julie Murphy, author http://juliemurphywrites.com
Laci Wright, songwriter https://www.facebook.com/LaciWrightMusic?fref=ts&ref=br_tf
Lila Graves, artist

Crooked Letter Crooked letter
Crooked Letter Crooked Letter (Harper Perennial)

Tom Franklin, author http://www.harpercollins.com/cr-101034/tom-franklin
Beth Nielson Chapman, songwriter http://bethnielsenchapman.com
Erin Gregory, artist http://www.efgart.com

In the Dark of the Moon
In the Dark of the Moon (Rivers Edge Media)

Suzanne Hudson, author http://riversedgemedia.com/authors/suzanne-hudson/ 
Lisa Carver, songwriter http://www.reverbnation.com/lisacarver 
Shelley Smith, artist http://www.spunkybohemian.com/Artists_Statement.html

Black Man in a White Coat
Black Man in a White Coat (Picador)

Damon Tweedy, author http://us.macmillan.com/author/damontweedy#
Timothy Scott Williams, songwriter http://www.tstunes.com
Grayson Gavras, artist https://www.facebook.com/grayson.gavras?fref=ts

Miss Hazel and the Rosa Parks League
Miss Hazel and the Rosa Parks League
(Maiden Lane Press)
Jonathan Odell, author http://www.jonathanodell.net/
Songwriter, Robert Cross
Kelley Lyons, artist http://lyonssharegallery.com

Hits: 4382